Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Walmart


She has lots of room to grow! Don't we all..

I was feeling pretty blah today. It's usually up or down for me, I'm super happy or in a really bad mood, haha! I had my list goin' but couldn't seem to pump myself up to do anything. This whole list thing is getting pretty toxic to my mood these days, eh? 

Well, I did what I needed to do but just mosey'd about the house. I was just feeling weighed down by a lot of things I need to get done. Not necessarily just today but with life. I think we all have those days. The days where we just think about what the heck is going on. What am I doing and what am I going to do? I even worry about what I'll be doing when I'm 40.. and even 60!  I don't want to be working as a bagger at Publix for the benefits when I'm 65! 

aaanyway, Maxx got home and he cheered me up with his (usual) good mood. I decided he could watch Noelle while I went and did a little grocery shop at Walmart. Another thing to check off my list. I found a front row parking spot in the "VIP". That's what Maxx and I call that one close section on the side of the building, ya know? My day was looking a tad brighter at that point. I walked in and started my shopping. This is one of the very few times I didn't have Noelle in the cart, so I was actually able to pay attention to other things. I started to notice THOSE people. You know...

.The lady that has like 3 kids and is just trying to keep them quiet no matter what..
.The "I don't care and I am going to trample you in the aisle because I can, and NOT say excuse me" woman..
.The Captain in the Army that's just buying some frozen pizza.. Who woulda thought? He probably lounges on the couch in his underwear, too!
.The people in the electric wheelchairs who are piling bottles of sodas into their baskets..
.The janitor that's miserably mopping up spilled tomato sauce (with disgusting smelling mop water)..
.The lady who squeezed 24353465 oranges to find the right one (and wouldn't move so a girl {eh.hem.. me} could squeeze a few for herself)..
.And the girl who paced the fruit section at least 3 times because she is so indecisive about what in the world to buy. (eh.hem.. me again.)

As I was (finally) leaving the fruit to check out, I heard this couple lightly bickering about a plum or something. Their kids were being pretty good. Although I did used to look at people awkwardly when they let their kids keep their shoes off  (in the cart) but that was until Noelle went through that phase. I still didn't really allow it, but it made for a nice scene, anyway. Thanks, Elle.

But for a brief moment, I wondered what life was like in their shoes, like at home. Have you ever wondered that about a stranger? Kind of like pre-judging them in your head..

I imagined it was a typical house. My scenario was the mom didn't ever dress up or try and look nice, maybe she was always too busy with the kids. The dad smoked a lot of cigarettes and worked all the time and always had dirty fingernails, and he didn't really like having fun. They've never had a real vacation and just do what they can to get by.

OK, fast forward- that couple was in the line next to me. The mom was laughing with the cashier and she seemed nice. Then she asked her son to do something, and he said "no." The dad leaned down and smacked him on the rear. He said "you always do what your mother asks and you treat her right!" What a nice and appropriate thing for a father to say! My scenario changed that moment. Not really of what it was like for them but WHO AM I TO ASSUME?! I know it's all natural and everything but what did it matter? Aren't we all those people who are just trying to do the best they can to get by?? Maybe they have date nights every Friday and both get dressed up to see a movie or something? I'll never know..

My point is that we're all just normal people- no matter how much better we may think we are from certain other people. We're all comparing ourselves to each other. We're all people who have crappy days and stress about something 40 years from now. We all just try to shush our kids in the store so everyone doesn't stare. We all have ugly dress days to Walmart where we're the ones people are judging! (I remember when I was like 13 I insisted on wearing my bright colored toe socks to the grocery store with my friend. I'm sure people were judging.. haha) I just have to remember that I'm not alone in everything like I may think.

My kid has had to go into Walmart like THIS! And yes, it's on her face, too. sigh.
-We're all just trying to live normally by trying to live differently-

I guess I'm suggesting going to Walmart for a future pick-me-up?

Not really a blog, blog.



So I was about to blog.

Then, I realized that I am insanely tired, 
have a bunch of things to do tomorrow (on my last day off)
and I should probably prioritize myself to shower first.
I guess I thought I had better things to do than smell good. um. I'm just kidding??

At least I unpacked everything today.

Tomorrow's agenda:
Pedicure. Seriously. I need to keep on top of this. (Note to self)
Workout. Yep. I need to get on the ball again.
Do a mini shoot with Noelle.
Laundry. Gag.
Grocery shop. No food in this house after a 10 day vacay.
Call the DMV. Not because I'm driving with an expired license or anything.
Try to get to bed at a normal time. No wrinkles, please.

Upcomming plans:
Get a dang TAN! Since Florida failed me with all that rain!
Keep working out.
Keep getting a tan. (It just dawned on me that it's cold up here now. (Can I get a slow-mo "Nooooo"??)
Find something to sew. Need a new project. (that I'll never finish)
Pay ticket from driving back to TN. lame.

The ONLY day that we could go to the beach- And we didn't even bring out bathing suites!!