Friday, May 27, 2011

Noelle's room (in progress)

Well, I've been working on Noelle's room for a few weeks now doing different things are trying to finish one thing in particular. It's hard with her tugging at my legs that she wants up to see all the time, haha. So, here is the main thing I've been working on. It was a lot of detail but it basically turned out ok for the most part. I'll say it was my warm up :)




I used some of her foam type play letters to trace on the wall for her name. Then, I wanted to do each letter as it's own theme. At first I did the "E" in all rhinestones but I noticed it was beginning to look tacky so I ended up using these confetti stars I had in my craft drawer. I did a beach theme for the "L" and used some extra shells I had. I did the clouds with pieces of cotton balls and Maxx made me the little sailboat :) I did the waves, sun, and birds with puff paint. The next "L" I just covered in ribbon. It definitely didn't turn out like I had planned but it was OK enough to leave there. For the "I" we did Minnie Mouse. I swore I came up with the idea. I love Minnie for Noelle ans have for a long time, so I "came up with tis", BUT- as we were watching the Disney Channel a few days later, I realized they do this with Mickey's head for the "Disney Junior" advertisement. LOL I guess it was in the back of my mind as I supposedly invented it. Either way, I put a twist on it and did Minnie's polka dots with rhinestones. Anyway, for the last "E" I used a zebra stencil. The stencil isn't that great so I did a rough draft of it in pencil and then used black paint to do my own thing with it. The outline is made with tulle I twisted up and pinned with clear pins. On the top two ends I made flowers with ribbon and used extra ribbon to twist more around the top part. :)

Be inspired and get creative!

Mama Bee

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Do we dream the same?

Ok so I'll admit.. ever since my family and friends started telling me how much I looked like the girl on American Idol (Haley Reinhart) I am totally obsessed with the show. Partly because we really do look so similar but also because I imagine every week what I would be going though. Everyday I stay home and putz around a little and I make good meaning of my life. I honestly and genuinely enjoy my life. BUT- I do have these dreams sometimes of being a "star." Think of all the things you can do and how many ways you'd get your voice heard? Or, even to feel like your someone important. Honestly, I think everyone has felt that way before. I imagine what it would feel like to rehearse a song a million times to get it right, or to have a crowd scream my name and have signs help up for me. The "Idols" got to go home and visit and the montage they showed made me cry for every single one. Can you imagine leaving where you're from as (insert name here) and going back a few months later as a superstar, to have people crying to you and being so inspired by you?? To me, that's so amazing.

Ever since I can remember my main goal in my life has been to inspire the people around me. I want people to know me as a genuine, kind person. I understand I am not that way all of the time (trust me, ask my husband.. or the person who cuts me in a grocery line.. haha) but I try to put passion in all I do. I don't want to be a singer or anything but I do want to share who I am with people and inspire them to be who they really are. I am still so young and have so much I want to do. I just wonder if I will ever organize the time to live through it all. Believe me, I've made my 'bucket list' but sometimes it isn't about "swimming with dolphins" or "traveling the world" but it's about being exactly who you are and putting all of yourself in every.single.thing.you.do.

I wonder to what extent are the things people have dreamed up for themselves. I question what things do others hold near to their heart and don't always express aloud .

I do apologize if absolutely none of this made any sense but it's a huge combination of all I'm feeling right now. I'm super inspired. I think tomorrow I'll study for the test to get into this College to start picking away at that bucket list of mine. <3

Mama Bee

Monday, May 16, 2011

The art of sitting in a dog bed

I have decided to stop obsessing over my "To Do" lists. They seem to hold me back rather than motivate me. I still need to write a list 10000x a day, though :) Did I mention I have a lot to do today?

I have also came to the conclusion that I have a really amazing child. Not that I didn't know that before, but she actually is amazing. She lets me do everything I need to have done without a fuss. Some days she needs a little more attention than others but all in all she's great! As I type this, she is sitting in Romeo's doggy bed watching cartoons through the open door while eating a Saltine :).. She often sits here under the desk in front of the window (usually still in Romeo's bed) while I catch up on things online. Or, She'll sit in it wherever it is. Oh, and I can't forget to mention that I am wearing Minnie Mouse ears that she insisted I leave on since she was done wearing them. <3

Mama Bee

NOTE: RIGHT AFTER THIS 'ARTICLE' WENT TO 'PRESS'.... MY CHILD TURNED FOR THE WORSE. SHE CONTINUED TO HAVE A FIT THE ENTIRE REST OF THE DAY AND HAS BEEN ACTING THE SAME EVER SINCE. (Not sure how much more I'll blog about that so I won't 'curse' myself.. hmmm...) 

Thursday, May 12, 2011

Finding Time

Lately it has been really difficult for me to concentrate on one thing. I have been soo all over the place with all that I do. I am focusing on getting the house "together" and "settled" but I keep starting projects and not finishing them. Well, as of now, they're all basically complete but when I start a project I get a set back so I will just start a new one. I really don't like being that person! Haha... I want to do one step at a time. So, as of now this is my vow (in writing) that I will start to finish my tasks. I mean, if I don't get a hold of this now, it can get worse with age and become a terrible habit!! lol!

Anyway, on a positive note, I have been doing some fun things around the house in general. Maxx and I have started to re-do the yard. It was a huge mess before, but we have weeded big time (where I almost got bitten by a black widow) and we've done a lot of trimming to the 2 big trees in the front. I plan on planting a few colorful flowers for spring/summer. I am also going to be planting some Herbs to have on hand when I cook. I have wanted to do that for a long time so I am excited about that. We still need to mulch and buy a few more bricks to frame out the front garden area. We had a few huge storms a couple of weeks ago and our neighbor had to use his chainsaw to cut a tree up that had fallen, so we are getting some really nice pieces to put in the back to set up "camp fire" style. In Noelle's room I wanted to do the typical "name above the bed" idea. But I decided to but a bit of a twist in it. I will post a separate blog about that later. But it turned out good!

It's so hard to find time to do all the things I want while doing all of my "mommy" duties. Noelle usually allows me to get a little creative through the day. She's such a great little girl.

On THAT note.... the little booger officially started climbing evverrywhere beginning yesterday! Within an hour or so, she fell off of her new potty and did a face skid on the floor and scratched her face (while standing on it, of course) then, she was climbing on the entertainment center and slipped. She busted her lip all up! :( I ran out and she was bleeding everywhere!! It was her very first actual boo boo!! I felt terrible but she got better real quick once we played a bit :)


I'm sure she'll give me more to post more later <3

Mama Bee

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Blog food for thought

I wonder how much I would have done if I spent half the time actually blogging about the things I want to do or the crafts I've just finished. I think it's way more fun looking at the things everyone else has done rather than taking the time to blog about your own experiences. Hmm.. maybe within due time. I guess by then I'll have a few hundred posts ready to slam on here and knock out a years worth of blogging in a few days. :)

Oh, how I love the new world I have come to find. and OH MY.. the things I didn't know...

<3 <3 Mama Bee