Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Mama Blues

Hey there!

Let me just say this: I am so tired! 

This is my second week working and needless to say more, I'm just plain worn out! It's crazy because I had so many different priorities 2 weeks ago. Everyday I just woke up with Noelle and played with her and watched 'Yo Gabba Gabba' between all the typical housework. Now, I speed to wake up, speed sweep, speed through laundry (which I never remember to switch over and I always have to RE-WASH, like twice!), speed shower, etc, etc... in order to get everything done before I have to go to work. Speaking of which, I need to put the clothes in the dryer before I forget- again.

On my days off I KNOW that I really need to clean up and catch up on what I can't get done through the week, but instead, I am finding myself vegging out on the couch with Noelle and just talking to her and playing with her. Yesterday, I made it a point to stay out with her all day instead of sitting at home. We just did a little running around and then just spent flat out spent time together. I just miss her so much. By the way, she knows the colors "PINK" and "GREEN" now. It's so cute! Sometimes, she calls the color green "turtle" because she knows that's the color they are. ..::Swoon::.. Maybe only a mom could feel that way over their kid learning colors. lol..

Tonight was nice, I got off at 8 and still had time to spend time with her before bedtime. I got to give her a bath and play a little. As I was putting her in her jammies, I taught her how to say "Bumble Bee" (from her 'Burts Bees' cream.) It didn't quiiiite sound like that but it was close. She was cracking up and giggling so cute as we said it, it's so sweet to make her laugh <3

I am actually enjoying working again in some ways, though. I am getting a sense of fulfillment from being so busy and learning new things and being around new people. I think of her the wholllle time I'm gone. Noelle Elize really is my motivation for everything. I hope one day she'll understand how much she means to me. 

I guess lately I've been reevaluating my priorities. I am realizing that I can't always have everything perfect, even though that's the way I like it to be. Spending time with my family is most important, not making sure I write blog or that I'm cleaning constantly. I actually enjoy doing things in relation to my home, It makes me happy, but if it's going to stress me out to get something done, I need to overcome it. 

Right now, I just need to find a balance between work and home in order to continue with things running smoothly. After all, I can always shower tomorrow, right?? Well, maybe I'll just take a speed shower really quick.

xoxox Mama Bee

Monday, July 25, 2011

Goodbye July

Mhoroi!!

Yeah, I had to Google that one, I ran out of knowing ways off the top of my head to say "Hello" in other languages. This is a greeting from Zimbobwe, hehe. So Mhoroi, everyone!!


It's been a while since I've actually posted. I had a good thing goin' then all of a sudden life kicked in again and I got backed up. I think of so many things to post on here every single day but can't find the time to take a break and type it out. I should probably start using my phone to Mobile Blog, but I really prefer the keyboard instead. 


To catch up, I am not watching our friend's little girl, Trinity, through the day anymore. She is starting school so she'll be going to daycare in between so I have my days free now- or so I thought. Maxx and I decided it was best that I get a job now. We are really wanting to visit home (Florida) to see my brother on when he's leave from his contracting job in Iraq, and of course see everyone else. Gas has been going crazy so it takes a few hundred buck-o's to for the drive alone. Also, we want to jump start paying some bills off, etc. Either way we decided it was best for us. 

I have been SO honored to be a stay at home mommy throughout my pregnancy and Noelle's first year. I can thank my super awesome hubby for supporting our family for so long. I don't want to lose being with Ellie through the day so I decided to work nights. 


 I'm only working part-time and starting from like between 2 and 4 until 11 or so. I signed her up for daycare on post, so I can drop her off and Maxx can pick her up at 5 when he gets off. So, she'll only be in actual daycare for a few hours. I have a few friends who could watch her, and I have utilized them a few times, but as much as I used to be opposed to daycare, I do think that a few hours for just a few days a week, will be good for her. I think it's healthy to have her socialize with other children. I mean, she goes in the childcare for church for an hour every Sunday, but that's not very long. As good of a baby that she is, I think she should start learning how to be around other children and practice "sharing" and things like that. I used to be sooo against it because I didn't (and still don't) want her to pick up bad habits, etc from other little ones and change the sweet baby she is, but I DO think it's a healthy choice for her. I am still very nervous, though. 



Ellie and her friend, Bayler.


We've had an AMAZING past few weeks here in Tennessee. We've went camping, swimming, had a bunnnch of awesome BBQ's, dinners, and pool time! 

"Jazz on the lawn" at the Winery
We have such an awesome group of friends and that's really made it enjoyable since being away from Florida. Maxx and I miss our friends and family there so much! We have everyone over every single weekend, which is actually really great. I am glad it's here at my house, so I am able to put Noelle asleep in her own bed and feel comfortable that she's home and resting. We're actually like the only couple in our 'group' that has a baby, but all  our friends are so awesome and really love Noelle. 

Our friend Kat and Ellie Bee

We are really so lucky. I can't put it any other way. All the things that God has blessed us with is AWESOME! There have been so many things that have lead me to worry about different things in our lives and He has just taken my fears and worry away and just allowed things to work out according to His plan. All we have to do is trust in Him and we'll always be taken care of. Here's something I thought about that hit me really deep the other day. I thought  

"WOW! I love Noelle SO much. I can't even think of a way to express my love for her. There's no way anyone could ever know how much I truly, SELFLESSLY love her" 

and then this thought immediately followed...

"Well, wow, GOD loves her MORE than I love her. That's hard to swallow, but it's the truth." 

It literally took me back a second because it's almost impossible to imagine someone loving her more than I do. But HE does. What a blessing to know that she is saved by His grace. He'll always be watching her, even when I can't. That right there was an "ah-ha moment" for me. He loves me and YOU that much, too. He just wants us to follow Him and he will bless us over and over again. Seriously, turn to HIM, LEAN ON HIM- he WILL hold you up! Just try it if you don't believe me. Try with all your heart, truly, and see what ways he will work inside of your heart.


There's so many more things I want to tell everyone about but it's officially 1:01AM and I have to work tomorrow (plus wake up with 'Little Miss' bright and early). I will do my bestest to keep up, even if my posts are shorter than usual. So, I'll say "See Ya Later, July. I'm down for August!"

REALLLL Quick "Weight Loss Series" update:
I haven't worked out in a little over a week. I was SOOO sick for a few days then started working. I should probably start again but work has me running around so I feel at least a little active. I do plan to keep up with my success! :) I really do feel so much more comfortable with myself!
Current Weight: 139.0 (-6.2lbs)
Current Waist Inches: 32 (2.5")


Note to self: Girl, paint those plain ol' toe nails asap, they are not cute.

Darn, after getting side tracked, it's 1:30am now, I need to NOT drink 3 shots of espresso at 10:30pm.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Airing it outtt

Do I get a vent space? Yes. I do. Why? Because it's MY place. People change so much. Actually, I have changed so much. I don't think it's such a good thing to stay the same forever. People can say "oh, you've changed" well you know what? I thank GOD! I am glad that God is allowing me to grow with him. I have tried not to  write this but seeing posts today make me so upset. I am not writing this to be malice but I need to VENT!

People really bother me when they complain about the SAME things, especially for YEARS!!!! Do something about it, I am tired of hearing it. I have TRIED to help!!!! I can't do it anymore!! I can't say I am perfect, because shooooot, I am totally not, but you know what I TRY to TRY. (Make sense?)
I try to evolve. and yeah, I can still act the same way as I used to in some aspects, maybe everyone does, but seriously, the same things over and over??

As of right now, I am very frustranted in the fact that about Facebook. Yep, silly FB. People are using it as a tool to basically say mean/rude things about other people directly in each other's face (specifically your own friends can be talking about YOU! Yeah, YOU!) And you know what, I almost did it right back in retaliation. Ya know, like post something indirectly back towards them...?

Instead I posted it here, in MY OWN space. If you don't want to read it, GO. I am never a down person, I feel like I am pretty positive. I go through sad/upsetting/depressing things sometimes and need the help of a friend and their advice, but I move on. I am human. I pray and pray, and I need help from other people for me to move on.

I am completely disgusted how people are acting on Facebook now. Come on, it's about connecting, not using it to indirectly bash someone. Even older people are acting like little CHILDREN! GROWN WOMEN!! I feel like I can't even post about my day without someone judging it completely. I am actually pretty over it. To be 100% HONEST I want to delete it! I will not, becuase I have family that is very important to me that I want to know how we are and see Noelle grow, because we're so far away. Actually, I shouldn't have to go anywhere. I have CONSTANTLY deleted people from my FB in order to avoid any drama. If you talk nasty, you're out. THAT'S JUST ME! I DON'T WANT TO HEAR IT! If you curse in every post allll the time, you're out. If you bash other's constantly, gone. If you give 150% of your own personal drama out, done. I mean, come onnnnn! Be positiveeeee. I understand people are trying to express themselves but this is too much. Relationship drama, cheating, lying, partying 24/7. I don't want to see that every day! If it's so important just post that you need a friend to talk to so someone can help on a personal level. Even some "family" members are doing it! ugh. People have even been so bold as to ask why I deleted them. It was no mistake. Either I just didn't talk to you (fair enough) or you are always depressing, negative, and drama filled (and yes, you can claim you're not, but you ARE). It's totally not that I don't care about you, but I can't deal with all of that.

My point for this (and other things I have posted a long time ago that are similar) is to give people awareness! Are you people aware that you're acting this way???? Just because you have the power to press "Share" doesn't mean everyone wants to hear it. And if they don't want to hear it, they'll be deleting you. I keep people as my friends because I love them and care about them but when they post things so crazy, it makes me see who they really are. And I can obviously see when they'r being indirect towards me. When I post, I am 100% honest. Why hate on me because I am happy and showing it (no, not boasting.)

I did nothing special in my post tonight but I had to let this out. I guess I felt the need to post this because I feel like a recent post was about me and I'm not havin' it. I could just keep pretending like nothing is going on, like others do, but I am fed up with all the childlike games. Again, I am not perfect and have dumb things I do and slip up on without thinking but, whew. Okay I'm done now.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Laugh flowers. Feel Colorful

I have always loved flowers. Since I can remember, my Nana has always had a garden at her house. Actually, it kind of flows around her house. She has all kinds of plants and trees. I always have cherished the memory of my cousin and I playing in her garden and helping her water the flowers. My favorite? Hibiscus. I have one picture of me, a few years old, watching her water all the Hibiscus. We both had some in our hands. I love that. It's nice that we've (my huge family) has grown up playing around her garden and now all of our kids get to play around it, too. I'm a sucker for tradition. 


As I grew up, I've always had this dream of having fresh flowers at my bedside to wake up to every morning. And I wanted flowers all over the house, too. It's so refreshing to have them around. People who say they don't like/don't want flowers have got to be lying! 

Anyway, now that I am an adult, I have put fresh flowers at my bedside and let me tell you, I don't even see them all day!! I wake up to hear Noelle crying for "Mama" to get her out and start the day. I jump out of bed so fast that I don't even remember them being there. The only other time I see them is when I go back in to make the bed. How exciting! 

So, I opted for more useful places. My kitchen window sill. I mean, I am constantly washing dishes allllll day, aren't I? I might as well have something nice to look at- especially since we are treating our houses as 5 Star Hotels, right ladies?

 I flat out refuse to buy expensive flowers for the house. To me, the 'cheapies' will do just fine. I've been able to buy so many because Walmart has been selling bouquets for only $5! And there's a bunch of different varieties to choose from. I even found some on sale for $2.50 each. Of course, I got two!


I wanted to share a few tips I've learned that make having flowers much nicer:

-The basic rule is that your flowers should be one a half times as tall as your vase.

-Usually one color is easier to make look good than a bunch of different ones. Pick a few different shades of one color and go from there.

-Probably the simplest arrangement is a "hedged" arrangement. The flowers are bunched together right at the top. 

This is my FAVORITE vase, I got it at an antique store in Florida, but have seen a similar one at one here in TN.

Get a lot of one type of flowers and cut the stem to where the bud of the flower is just resting on the vase. Keep filling in with flowers until the vase is full. This is one of my favorite looks. I used to not like the idea of cutting long stem roses and other flowers like calla lilies, but I read that it isn't all that bad :) They really do look great when they are arranged that way.

(I remember one time, I got long stemmed roses and I was in my Nana's kitchen cutting them down to fit a short(er) sized vase. She came in and asked why I was cutting long stemmed roses and explained that these are more expensive and bought that way on purpose. At this time I wasn't cutting them to look nice in a short vase, I was just plain butchering them without any idea what I was doing. haha)

-Use the green styrofoam to arrange your flowers. I learned that if florists use them, we should too! Why wouldn't we, anyway? If you only have a glass vase, use a banana or palm leaf to cover it up. Or, my favorite idea is to use lemon, lime, or orange slices around the vase. 

Credit

-To clean a grimy vase, use ice and salt. Let sit, then rinse. You can also bleach it for a half hour or so.

-Invest in garden shears. Cutting stems with just scissors crushes the stem and prevents the flower from getting water. They're actually pretty cheap. I put this off for a long time but I'm glad I made the investment. It really helps keep your flowers healthy. They are alive, after all.

Cut your stems at an angle. This helps the flowers absorb more water. 


Try and change the water every other day to keep it fresh. Bacteria is what kills flowers quickest. If you forget to change the water that ofter, put a few drops of bleach.

If you have filtered water, use it. I would not waste a bottle of water on a bouquet but the better the water, the less bacteria. Just to keep in mind.

I got this idea from some home-y magazine a while ago, but I love it. You don't always have to use "vases" 



 Get creative and use anything that can hold some water and however many flowers your putting, and let it shine! Save the cans from your vegetables. Just wash with soap and store away. Whenever I get some cute flowers and I want to put a vintage feel on it, I just cut them stems and pop them in. Love this look! You can also get out your hot glue gun and craft some nice fabric onto the can. And glass bottles look great, too! Maxx brought home this orange and carrot juice bottle for me to save. It makes a great vase for a few simple flowers.




Oh man! No joke, I just came inside from grabbing my flowers. They were looking a little droopy so I put them out to get a little sun. It's so hot out that they're wilting, now! I guess that's another tip- don't let them sit in the direct sun for too long. Darn, I just lost like a whole bouquet. Maybe I should go up and re-read some other tips. Hahaha!

I found some other tips HERE that I found interesting, too!

 Flowers don't have to be expensive and extreme. They're an expression of feeling and usually it has positive reactions. To me, it's one of the sweetest, oldest traditions that have kept living on. If you've never really bought flowers just for yourself, buy them. It doesn't have to be a weekly thing but at least once a month, but yourself some flowers and put them somewhere you're at most often throughout the day. It will make you feel so good. Just try it and trust me, I'm an expert, okay I just really like feeling good.





Sunday, July 10, 2011

Brain Spillage

Okay here goes. Ready?

Boy, was Noelle was at it today. To be totally honest, she's a really good kid. I normally don't have these kind of days. Maxx woke up early this morning to watch Ellie and let me sleep in. 
How sweet.

Wellll... Maxx comes into the room and says 
"You're really going to hate me." 
I quickly wake up from a dead sleep and say,
"Don't make me punch you in the face." 
Classy.

Well, he walks in with our couch cushion in hand. He said when he went to the bathroom, Noelle used that time and colored all over the cushion with a pen.
g.r.e.a.t

{I am SOOO glad we got our couches treated with that protection stuff.  
Which, in fact I learned when she spilled an entire extra large Cherry ICEE on like half of the couch one very early morning}

I ask why she had a pen, because he knows that in the office she has a "childproof" drawer with crayons. Then I think:
Crap.

I forgot that our friends were staying over last night and were still sleeping in the office/spare room. So to entertain her, he gave her a notepad and a pen.
ugh.

(I did get the pen out later, thank goodness)

Then, not much later, I take note of a quiet moment. 
"NOELLE!!!!"

She was playing in the toilet water. Mind you, she is 15 months old and has never played in/been interested in playing in the toilet water. Why now??
g.r.o.s.s

I rush her to soap immediately.

I went into the office a bit later and remembered our friend's dog vomited on the floor through the night. Of course, they cleaned it up as best they could, so no biggie, but I went straight for the bleach. That's just me. And then, Noelle goes over and started standing in it and saying "tswww, mama." Because she knew it was yucky.  
"NOOOOO!"
disgusting.
{Soap run #2}

I won't even get into the rest of the day. It wasn't as bad but she kept me busy for sure. 

Now, onto my random thoughts... and yeah, they're random.

Notes To Self:
Make more time to pray and thank God for everything he's given.
Spend more time and be present in my relationship with Christ. No exceptions.
Find a food truck and indulge. Can I send someone an email to come this way or something?
Buy a juicer.
Make some bread.
Go to Italy.
Teach Maxx how to speak with an Italian accent.
Continue drooling over/watching "Extra Virgin" (my favorite cooking show with an authentic Italian guy and his fab wife.)
Always close the bathroom door when Noelle is awake.
Always close the door to anywhere I have cleaning product on the floor mixed with (insert gross item here)
Don't put 2 coats of red polish plus a clear coat within a short period of time- even if they appear dry. They will smudge! lame.
buy.coffee.asap.

Goodnight!

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Weight Loss Series update

Hi there!


Friday was my 3rd week of my mini workout plan. I am actually really happy where I'm at and mainly, I'm happy about where I'm headed. 

I feel much more comfortable in my own skin and that is important to me. I feel like I look better, too. I did get a nice comment from Maxx yesterday :) 

I've only been tracking my weight and wait inches daily. I'll post about the total loss at the end of my workout series in a few weeks. 

Also, I feel really great because I am not crazy strict on myself with my eating. I still don't cut a lot of slack but I do allow mini indulgences. It keeps me happy where I am able to keep pushing forward with my goals.

So- here's the stats

Weight: 142.0 (-3.2 lbs)
Waist Inches: 32 (-2.5")


The last time I updated was about 5 days ago. In that 5 days, I lost an extra pound and inch.  

Woot!

Friday, July 8, 2011

Current Reads

Book Review and a Fact about me...

There's this book series by Emily Giffin that I love. 



I heard about them a loong time ago from a friend I used to work with. I bought the 1st one and was hooked. They're super cute with a twist of drama. I am all about the "City Chic" books about the Manhattan gals. {Pronunciation: City SHEEK} That's something I never knew before I started reading these kinds of books. I always thought it was pronounced "CHICK."  

Now since that's cleared up...

Maybe I enjoy these books because I grew up sooo far from that type of lifestyle. I'm a Southern Mama. I wouldn't say "Southern Bell" but southern none the less. When my husband and I were starting to live out on our own (our 2nd place to be exact) we went to look at this condo in our old downtown area, just for fun

Well the guy took us to the 22nd floor and showed us a Unit. Let's not drag it out- you KNOW we were living on that 22nd floor within a few weeks. 

I loved the way I felt when I was there. I felt incredible. We had 2 terraces- one on each side, East and West. So, we got a sunrise view and a sunset view on the other end of the condo. Oh, did I mention that it was on the water. In FLORIDA!? 


Yeaaa... I was lovin' it.
The problem you ask? My husband was in Basic Training at the time and I was basically there alone! Not really anyone to share it with. Just me and Romeo (our pup).  


Sure, I had friends over and I attempted to be all "Sex and the City-esque" while eating downtown street side all the time..



But- it just wasn't the same without him to enjoy it with me. Then, I realized the carpets were cheap, the paint was cheap and everything kept breaking! AND bad management! 
Hmph! 
We also couldn't really afford it. Well- we could but we shouldn't have. We could've saved a lot! 
So, "short story long" as our friend, Miles likes to say,  
I'd rather just read about the Manhattan girls versus actually being like them, in that sense.

yadda, yadda, yadda-

There's a total of 5 books that Emily has written. They've all been highly rated! I've read 3 so far (well, ok.. I'm on the last few chapters of the 3rd). 

I really love them because of her writing style. It's like you can see it happening in front of you.  She also kind of reminds me of myself. Or maybe, how I'd like to write.

The first book, Something Borrowed, is about a girl, Rachael, who takes her best friend, Darcy's fiance, Dex. But Darcy isn't so innocent. 
Anyway, the 2nd, Something Blue, basically tells the story from Darcy's point of view and wayy more. It so good! She's this completely stuck up person but in some ways, believe it or not, everyone can totally relate.
This 3rd book, Baby Proof,  is about a different girl, Claudia, who doesn't want kids and ends up divorcing her husband because he 'reneges' on his end of not wanting them either. It also ties in another off character from the other books in a unique little way. Read!

I can't wait to start the next two; "Love the One Your With" and "Heart of the Matter."

Btw- I try to never buy my books full price. Check on Amazon and little bookstores first :)

Noelle's current read:


 "We're Going on a Bear Hunt" by Michael Rosen 
I've found he's fantastic! Some sweet friends of ours, Mark and Kat, gave this to Noelle last week. She loves books! Kat has been a teacher and has a knack for littles! So, when she brought this book to Ellie and said her class loved it, I was so excited! 
I like that pages are thick and it's SUCH a fun read. 


 It's repetitive on some pages so she likes that. Even the little girl I watch though the day loves it!!  

My opinion is: The funner your tone, the funner the book! Is funner a word? I forgot. I'm going with no.

Today, we actually sat and read alllll of Ellie's books aloud. It became a little difficult towards the end when one kid was trying to turn a page one way and the other kid was turning them the opposite! We called it quits after 'E' through a fit. haha. 

Maxx's favorite books usually consist of any "Fun Fact" Books or fictional war books. Orrr... any good car magazine!!

I totally encourage everyone to pick up a book asap! I love even the dollar books at Goodwill! I plan on reading the classic "Pride and Prejudice" here pretty soon. I've been meaning to read it for years! Those classic kinds of books are sure finds at little places. And the little places are my favorite. Can I own one someday, please?

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Modern Mama Tips

So, I read the book "The Modern Girl's Guide to Life" by Jane Buckingham, and since I want to post some things I've learned from it and my own experiences (and of course, much more) 
I am going to call this ongoing series my very own

Modern Mama Tips 

No worries, I'm definitely still keeping in mind some of the old tricks my mama and grandmother taught me but in reality
come on- 
we're all modern girl's 'round here. 

I think that it's so important to know some of these things as you grow into the changes of being married, a mama, and of course just an changing into an "older woman." So naturally, I just decided to embrace it. 
Ok, ok, ok... so i'm only 22.
I am still aging here, people! 

This all still applies to anyone who is single or not a mama, of course!

Modern Mama Tip:

Treat your home like a hotel
 No. not like trashing it because you won't be the one cleaning the next morning...
decorate and design your house AND yes, your bathroom like you are living in a luxury hotel

-Treat your guests that way, too-

Here's a few ideas with things I've done with my house that make me feel "5 Star" okay.. well... maybe not 5 star but that It makes it look a little fancier to me, anyway.

People sometimes come over/stay over unexpectedly so always be prepared! It may not be often that someone comes and stays, but when they do, you'll be glad you prepared ahead of time- trust me. 

Instead of scrambling for things a guest may need in the moment, always have it ready. Keep an alarm clock handy in case they may need it if they stay overnight. 

I've learned It's the simple things that count.

Keep spare blankets accessible- I try to keep a section of my linen closet for "guests only." In case someone needs a blanket, pillow, or towel, I have it ready for them and they're always clean so the guest can know it's not just one of our regularly used towels.

I keep spare necessitates in the extra drawer in the bathroom in case someone may need it. Basically, it's any spare things we come across... 
the extra toothpaste, toothbrush and floss you get at every dentist visit
sample size shampoos/body washes, etc.
I also keep Noelle's book in this drawer for her "potty time" TMI??



For the guest bedroom, I plan on getting a basket of some sort so I can put together some Tylenol, books, water, nuts, etc... so I'm able to set it in the room or on the bed when needed. This helps guests feel more comfortable and wanted. I also have magazines in a breakfast tray in my living room that I can just move into there whenever someone is staying. They won't have to feel like they're bothering you for anything. I had to stay with a friend while I was looking for a place back up here and Maxx was still deployed and she was awesome. She even set up her Pack N Play for Ellie so I didn't have to worry. How thoughtful??



We did have people house-sit for us for a few weeks and we first moved in. I felt so bad that nothing was ready. Come stay again? I promise I'll be ready this time :) 

Leave out a candle and lighter so they can use it if they want. Even if they don't it's a nice touch. A plug in air freshener is always a good idea!!

Another nice gesture is to WD40 any squeaky doors (guest room/b.room) in case they get up in the middle of the night. It's always awkward when you open a squeaky door for a midnight pee break, right? Hmm, maybe it is just me.

Something else to remember is that even the best house guests can sneak a peep at your stuff in the bathroom, especially if you only have one bathroom, so keep anything personal in a basket or something easily transferable under the sink that you can easily move it. Or just to even make space for their own things.

To keep your bathroom fresh in a jiffy (haha, "jiffy." didn't I say we were modern girls? That sounds pretty old school to me) Anyway! I learned to spray your mirror with air freshener and wipe down to keep a great scent around. Sa-weet. 

Something that's hard for me right now is that Maxx is using the guest bedroom as his "Military Storage Room" so all of his ACU's are everywhere. Honey, please clean up? ps. i love you.

Get one of THESE below! Super cute and classy! You can use it anywhere when you don't have visitors. Ours has magazines and remotes that usually goes on our ottoman (when Noelle isn't flinging magazines everywhere)

 

**Other things I also want to mention as general rules of thumb while we're talking about guests:

ALWAYS offer your guests a beverage or snack (even if they're just dropping by for a few minutes.) To be honest, I find it so tacky not to! Make them feel taken care of.
Always send thank you notes to someone who's done something specifically nice for you or who's helped out by bringing a bottle of wine and dessert to your house for an occasion. Even a follow up phone call to say you appreciate it and it was good seeing them will do. I always prefer hand written cards, though. You can get like a pack of 8 at some places for like a buck! Classy, eh?


Even though a lot of this was on how I think you should be treating guests, don't forget to treat yourself with luxury as well! Don't skimp, now! Go in there and oil your own door, dang it! Use fancy towels for yourself and put 5 star things in your everyday environment!!


So, as I was writing this blog, I thought of something fun for guests to do in your bathroom for a party. Sounds weird, right? WELL, we have a lot of get togethers here so next time, I am going to post a piece of paper and pen on the door, so on their way out, all our guests can write something. Our friends are pretty hilarious so this is sounding like a good idea to me. I'm sure they'll think it's even funnier the next day. It's like a joke guest book. Note: maybe we wouldn't need to actually put it in the bathroom. hmmm..?

Wow, this was super long. 

Let me know of any other things you might want to know as well! I'll test and blog anything you're curious about. 

Follow me on Twitter HERE


Credit. Credit. Credit. Credit

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Modern Girl's Guide To Life and Me



Ello there! 

I got this book 'Modern Girl's Guide To Life', a few years back and it's my go-to guide for everything! I keep it by my bedside for any questions that a girl should know but doesn't. It has things like how to keep your wardrobe, how to throw a cocktail party, how to get stains out of different fabrics, and sooo much more. I love it so much that I thought I would talk about it once a week or so. Maybe I can share what I've learned and how it worked best for me. Also, I have a ton of different things that I've experienced on my own and might work for other people to know about, so when I come across one, I'll post it too! I can't count how many times I've went through something that is sometimes SO basic but I did it the hard way and thought "come on, how didn't I know that!?" So, look forward to it!

And I can't forget...

Day 13, Phase 2!
Today was intense (again). I had to work out in the office (again) because I forgot to get the wire to the t.v fixed. I actually didn't mind it, though, because I did a split screen on the computer and watched my fave "YouTubers." That always makes time go by faster as you're sweating your rear end off! I am not in as much pain from yesterday as I expected, but I can feel it deep in my "core" and shoulders. I'm making myself drink a bunch more water. I don't want to slip on that part of my deal. I bought this cup from the Dollar Tree and told myself I have to drink at least one of these a day or more. Lemon helps me!

We love pink 'round here

Cute photo of the day:


Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Missing Mama



 I got a letter from my mom the other day. We're about 14 hours apart now that I've moved and we miss each other so much! She's such an inspiration to my life!! We've (her, my brother's and I) have been through so much together. Seriously. 

She did the sweetest thing and sent me a sweet long letter and put in index cards of bible verses for me to keep on hand and read whenever I need. 



What an awesome mama! Her faith just blows me away. She's come such a long way from where she used to be and I'm just SO proud of her. We can talk for 2 hours sometimes while I'm cleaning or cooking, etc. (Good thing she's on my Friends and Family plan!) But whenever I need anything at all, she's just there. Especially when I can't find something in a grocery store, I can always call her and she tells me what aisle it's on so I can stop walking all over and looking crazy. Man, I love that. She's everything a mom should be; she gives me recipes, calls everyday, writes to me, listens before talking just enough, gives the best advice, and best of all she loves me and makes sure I know it. I wish I had more pictures on hand but they were all on my old laptop and Noelle spilled Cherry Icee all over it. We have yet to find out if anything is salvageable. I thought they were backed up on my external hard drive, but I guess not. Maybe I'll do a post and scan all our old pictures one day..


A piece of advice, call your mama and tell her thank you and you love her. Maybe even send her a verse or two. Even if you live close, it's still a sweet gesture.

Phase TWO

PHASE 2 IS NO JOKE! 

I am sitting here beat red and extremely sweaty from that darn 20 minute workout. I totally loved it, though. I felt more into it because I had stuck with phase 1 for so long. I am really glad I didn't move on until I was ready, though. Otherwise, I would be feeling wayyy worse right now. No telling how I'll feel tomorrow. What wasn't too much fun was that I had to do it in our office. Maxx messed with the cords to the t.v and I couldn't get the picture to come up and Noelle had just went down for a nap so I had no time to fiddle with wires of any kind. I am SO excited to continue Phase 2!! I want some intense results! Just in time to cover up for winter, hahah!! I can already tell my body has changed sooo much. Especially in my hip/love handle area.  (Woot)



Anyway, We had a GREAT holiday weekend! I feel like it hasn't stopped since Thursday! I am ready to get back on routine, though. Mostly with my eating habits. It doesn't help that our friends brought us cheesecake last night! Talk about fighting inner cravings.

I am making homemade pizza tonight and if it turns out good, I'll post it later! MMM! I love cooking...

Monday, July 4, 2011

Workout Update: Day 11

Bendición...

Today was supposed to be me starting phase 2 of my workout (the more intense one) but after this weekends semi junk food escapades, I decided to do one more day of phase 1 so I don't hurt myself. (i.e, I'm feeling too bloated!) But remember, my agreement to myself was that I wouldn't eat foods that I wanted, it would be that I just ate less of it. And trust me when I say I definitely haven't eaten as much as I wanted. I could've eat 2lbs worth of potato salad! I can definitely tell that I need to begin phase 2 though, because my muscles aren't responding as much to the workout. 

I did bit of tracking this afternoon...
Weight: 143lbs (-2.2)
Waist measurement: 33" (-1.5)

I think I've lost just a tad more weight than that but I did eat a burger for lunch before I weighed myself, haha. Either way, I'm making progress. I am pretty sure that with phase 2, it'll kick in gear a little faster. ::Hoping::


My homemade Apple Pie for the holiday

Chocolate Chip Pancakes!
Coming up soon: Hair treatment to deep condition/soften my hair, Homemade Pizza Recipe, and other fun stuff!