Book Review and a Fact about me...
There's this book series by Emily Giffin that I love.
I heard about them a loong time ago from a friend I used to work with. I bought the 1st one and was hooked. They're super cute with a twist of drama. I am all about the "City Chic" books about the Manhattan gals. {Pronunciation: City SHEEK} That's something I never knew before I started reading these kinds of books. I always thought it was pronounced "CHICK."
Now since that's cleared up...
Maybe I enjoy these books because I grew up sooo far from that type of lifestyle. I'm a Southern Mama. I wouldn't say "Southern Bell" but southern none the less. When my husband and I were starting to live out on our own (our 2nd place to be exact) we went to look at this condo in our old downtown area, just for fun.
Well the guy took us to the 22nd floor and showed us a Unit. Let's not drag it out- you KNOW we were living on that 22nd floor within a few weeks.
I loved the way I felt when I was there. I felt incredible. We had 2 terraces- one on each side, East and West. So, we got a sunrise view and a sunset view on the other end of the condo. Oh, did I mention that it was on the water. In FLORIDA!?
![]() |
| Yeaaa... I was lovin' it. |
The problem you ask? My husband was in Basic Training at the time and I was basically there alone! Not really anyone to share it with. Just me and Romeo (our pup).
Sure, I had friends over and I attempted to be all "Sex and the City-esque" while eating downtown street side all the time..
But- it just wasn't the same without him to enjoy it with me. Then, I realized the carpets were cheap, the paint was cheap and everything kept breaking! AND bad management!
Hmph!
We also couldn't really afford it. Well- we could but we shouldn't have. We could've saved a lot!
So, "short story long" as our friend, Miles likes to say,
I'd rather just read about the Manhattan girls versus actually being like them, in that sense.
yadda, yadda, yadda-
There's a total of 5 books that Emily has written. They've all been highly rated! I've read 3 so far (well, ok.. I'm on the last few chapters of the 3rd).
I really love them because of her writing style. It's like you can see it happening in front of you. She also kind of reminds me of myself. Or maybe, how I'd like to write.
The first book, Something Borrowed, is about a girl, Rachael, who takes her best friend, Darcy's fiance, Dex. But Darcy isn't so innocent.
Anyway, the 2nd, Something Blue, basically tells the story from Darcy's point of view and wayy more. It so good! She's this completely stuck up person but in some ways, believe it or not, everyone can totally relate.
This 3rd book, Baby Proof, is about a different girl, Claudia, who doesn't want kids and ends up divorcing her husband because he 'reneges' on his end of not wanting them either. It also ties in another off character from the other books in a unique little way. Read!
I can't wait to start the next two; "Love the One Your With" and "Heart of the Matter."
Btw- I try to never buy my books full price. Check on Amazon and little bookstores first :)
Noelle's current read:
"We're Going on a Bear Hunt" by Michael Rosen
I've found he's fantastic! Some sweet friends of ours, Mark and Kat, gave this to Noelle last week. She loves books! Kat has been a teacher and has a knack for littles! So, when she brought this book to Ellie and said her class loved it, I was so excited!
I like that pages are thick and it's SUCH a fun read.
It's repetitive on some pages so she likes that. Even the little girl I watch though the day loves it!!
My opinion is: The funner your tone, the funner the book! Is funner a word? I forgot. I'm going with no.
Today, we actually sat and read alllll of Ellie's books aloud. It became a little difficult towards the end when one kid was trying to turn a page one way and the other kid was turning them the opposite! We called it quits after 'E' through a fit. haha.
Maxx's favorite books usually consist of any "Fun Fact" Books or fictional war books. Orrr... any good car magazine!!
Maxx's favorite books usually consist of any "Fun Fact" Books or fictional war books. Orrr... any good car magazine!!
I totally encourage everyone to pick up a book asap! I love even the dollar books at Goodwill! I plan on reading the classic "Pride and Prejudice" here pretty soon. I've been meaning to read it for years! Those classic kinds of books are sure finds at little places. And the little places are my favorite. Can I own one someday, please?



I'm a very obsessive reader Cuz!! I've read all five of the Emily Giffin books you mentioned.. They are quite amazing. Andrew got me a Kindle for Valentine's Day and I've gone crazy with it!! Since February I've downloaded 20+ books and can't seem to leave the house without my Kindle. Seems we have common taste in authors!!
ReplyDeleteI've been reading alot too. LOVE Joyce Meyers, Max Lucado...Maybe one day you WILL own your own book store with your own books also in it :)
ReplyDelete